Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Moving from Windows Server to Linux
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Moving from Windows Server to Linux

Hi all,

I'm moving from Windows Server to Linux and I guess I could use some suggestions.

The thing is that, I'm not experienced with Linux. In fact, I dont like command line too much.

I don't have customers. I dont do shared hosting.
This is for my own company.
We run a handful of busy websites.

I'm looking for a solution that will help me make the transition. I'm either looking for a Linux GUI that I can setup everything (ngix or apache, mysql, php etc.) or for a control panel which can be installed on Linux.

I know that most control panels are build for shared hosting environments.

Is there a control panel that is not actually build for shared hosting (accounts, sub accounts etc). but primarily for managing your own hosting server?

Thank you
Alex

Comments

• OBHostOBHost Member, Host Rep

Own Hosting or Shared Hosting has no difference - Both are for Hosting Website/Account doesn't mater single or double.

• MikeAMikeA Member, Patron Provider
    edited February 2022

Any panel can be used not for shared hosting. cPanel, DirectAdmin, even Cyberpanel (free) work great. If you need an all-in-one tool for mail, web, dns, etc cPanel will be the most user friendly especially if you don't like CLI management. $15/m for one account. There are also some tools that are ran by companies to manage the whole VPS from a UI but I've never used any.

• Are you looking for something like Webmin/ISPConfig? It can be installed for individual use as well.

• Sounds like a job for Cockpit?
    Maybe require Fastpanel to supplement it.

• bruh21bruh21 Member, Host Rep