Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hetzner - Introduces Mac Mini M1
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Hetzner - Introduces Mac Mini M1

Comments

• jenkkijenkki Member
    edited October 2021

Nickname tells for yourself.

• MannDudeMannDude Host Rep, Veteran
    edited October 2021

But why? I mean, I guess there is obviously a market for it if they're doing it, but what sort of things are running on Apple that you can't run on a Linux box? I haven't used an Apple device since an old G4 Mac so I'm really out of the loop when it comes to Apple stuff.

EDIT: I'm an idiot.

• Personally, as a dev, I love to work on Mac due to various reasons(also personal ones).

• @MannDude said:
    But why? I mean, I guess there is obviously a market for it if they're doing it, but what sort of things are running on Apple that you can't run on a Linux box? I haven't used an Apple device since an old G4 Mac so I'm really out of the loop when it comes to Apple stuff.

xCode, ios app build

Thanked by 2default lentro
  • Scaleway seems has it for a while. But the price may higher.

• @MannDude said: But why? I mean, I guess there is obviously a market for it if they're doing it, but what sort of things are running on Apple that you can't run on a Linux box? I haven't used an Apple device since an old G4 Mac so I'm really out of the loop when it comes to Apple stuff.

Apple related dev work, such as running CI tests and "nightly" builds of iPhone/MacOS apps.

• @MannDude said:

i mean there is some arm based linux distro that can run on it (i think) and M1 gives good power for the price, also if you have good internet connection you can use a chromebook to access it as macos and turn it into a powerful one for remote work and accesibility,