Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Network speed to diffrent VPS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Network speed to diffrent VPS

Hello!

My first post here, I'm a proud owner of one server form oneprovider.com, and one form kimsufi.com. Also, I work as a Cloud Engineer, so I have access to Azure and AWS servers.

I live in a village where network is quite poor, but i mange to get wireless net form local ISP (via wireless devices Mikrotik). Net should be 50 download 5 upload. But when I download something from my servers, it's only around 10Megs. Speedtest.net shows 50/5, when I download game form steam I also get 50Megs. But most downloads form the web is around 10-20Megs. I managed to get 50Meg when I download something from server in vultr.com (using default configuration, so poor speed is not caused by bad configuration)

Can somebody explain why this happens and if is any chance to fix this?

Comments

• skorupionskorupion Member, Host Rep
    edited September 2021

because your browser is s**t at downloading. Use something like a free download manager.
    And the server that you are downloading from may not have direct peering to your isp thus when other isp that forward the packet to you may slow it a little bit down.

• Download what?
    Using what protocol?
    Server configuration?
    Latency to your server?
    Latency to vultr?

If you use http protocol, have you tried download accelerator that use multiple connection/thread?

• Why?