Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[UK] Run my own server for virtualisation - dedicated or 1U colocation
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

[UK] Run my own server for virtualisation - dedicated or 1U colocation

I'm a developer with clients using VPS from different providers. One long term client wants to upgrade the OS on their servers but it would push them into a much more expensive contract with their current host. While looking around - an alternative came up- that I buy or lease a more powerful server and provide managed hosting of their VMs.

This would also allow me to spin up separate VMs for prototyping/trying tech.

Initially I looked for a dedicated server, roughly 8+ cores and 128+Gb RAM (the more the merrier), in the ballpark of £100/month, then have started to think that I could buy a server with more power, and colocate it - I'm leaning towards this as although the first year I'd be paying off the server, but it would be an asset I own.

Requirements:

• UK based
  • Able to run Hyper-V or ESX
  • Running 4 Windows VMs and 2 Linux VMs (I'd handle the licensing)
  • Backup space
  • Moderate amount of traffic - I think tens of Gb/month

Dedicated

• General maintenance is someone else's problem
  • Can stop or change specs if I need to
  • Less margin for me
  • Less work on the hosting side for me

Colocation

• Bigger up front costs (to buy the server)
  • Better ongoing margin after the first year
  • I would have access to a better server which I could use for other projects
  • Learn more about networking and advanced server setup - I could create test VMs and load balance them etc.