Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Proxmox vs VMware ESXI - 2020
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Proxmox vs VMware ESXI - 2020

lowprofilelowprofile Member
edited July 2020 in General

Hi guys,

Now, there are many advantages, but the biggest advantage is pricing regarding Proxmox. I have always been using VMware ESXI, but now building a complete new setup, and i have no experience with Proxmox. A lot reviews justifies the use of Proxmox. I am already sold.

But...

What about performance? I will use the setup for hosting Cloudlinux cloud servers and other services. Old reviews was showing up to 15% overhead in term of performance overall. Not necessary network troughput, but TTFB (php handling) etc.

I am normally using bare-metal = No overhead - or else VMware when talking virtualization.
Bare-metal vs. VMware is noticeable if you count milliseconds (as i do)
e.x 2 applications was showing a difference on 15-20% in TTFB for a site. Same LEMP stack.

Do anyone use Proxmox with Cloudlinux VMs? I assume i cant use the container feature due to CL. So it must be created as "VM"

Any kind of input regarding performance is appreciated anno 2020. Fresh input :)

Comments

• I prefer ESXi because it has the ability to do 3D acceleration by software. I feel Proxmox is sluggish without that.

• momkinmomkin Member

every software has its own pros and cons , so in the end its up to you to choice which one is suitable to your requirements !

• somiksomik Member

@lowprofile said:
    Do anyone use Proxmox with Cloudlinux VMs? I assume i cant use the container feature due to CL. So it must be created as "VM"

Any kind of input regarding performance is appreciated anno 2020. Fresh input :)

Go with ESXi.