Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Which CPU for Game + VPS Hosting
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Which CPU for Game + VPS Hosting

13371337 Member

Hi everyone!!

Newbie here, which CPU would you use for game + vps hosting?

2x Intel Xeon E5-2678v3 (12 cores)

OR

1x Intel Xeon E-2136 (6 cores)

Would you put 128GB ram or 64GB ram per node? Let me know what you think below.

Ty!

Comments

• MikeAMikeA Member, Patron Provider

It depends what game? They have different requirements. You should not host VPS and game servers on the same physical system.

• systemfreakssystemfreaks Member, Patron Provider
    edited April 2020

It really depend on the game, if you have less than 100 users you can go with a game VPS, just make sure you have Layer 7 DDoS protection if you are hosting one of the mainstream games.
    There are a lot of ompanies out there that you can google or maybe you can find a good offer here.

• Intel E would be better for game servers due to its higher clock speed, E5 would probably be better for VPS as it has a higher core count, depending on what marget you're targeting.

Probably wouldn't be wise to run both VPS and game servers on the Intel E however.

• 13371337 Member
    edited April 2020

Thanks for commenting. Each node will be dedicated to their own hosting (game/VPS).

1x dedi for vps hosting
    1x dedi for game hosting

Forgot to mention, for these games:

Minecraft
    CSGO
    GMOD
    Ark
    Terraria
    TF2

• NDTNNDTN Member, Patron Provider, Top Host

2x Intel Xeon E5-2678v3 server for VPS Hosing as it has more cores which is better for virtualization.
    Intel Xeon E-2136 for Game hosting as it has higher frequency than E5 and is good for game.

• CConnerCConner Member, Host Rep