Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

SYS: keep IP addresses ?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

SYS: keep IP addresses ?

Hi,

I'm considering purchasing a BF server at soyoustart to replace my older server. The older server has some extra IP's (without monthly cost). Anyone knows whether I can keep the IP's (I intend to stay in the same location).

Thanks !

Comments

• JordJord Moderator, Host Rep

@wlambrechts I believe you can, but I think you need to transfer them before you cancel the old server. I could be wrong as I've never used SYS before. Just OVH which could be the same. I used to move IP's around all the time like that.

Thanked by 1wlambrechts
  • Yes you can retain those extra IPs from your older server except for the main assigned IP address.

Thanked by 1wlambrechts
  • @bula said:
    Yes you can retain those extra IPs from your older server except for the main assigned IP address.

can confirm. been there, done that ;-)

you can reassign the additional IPs/subnets to another box, at least if the server is in the same account/branch/country. doesn't even cost anything.

Thanked by 1wlambrechts
  • Falzo said: at least if the server is in the same account/branch/country.

I am facing the same problem, as I would like to switch from an Dedi in Roubaix to an BF in Limburg.
    In the client-area, it seems to be possible to reassign them even to another datacenter. I havn't tried it yet and was a bit suspicious, so I phoned them:
    They will check, if it is possible right now, cause it was planed.
    I will update you about this.

Thanked by 1wlambrechts
  • @lorian said:

Falzo said: at least if the server is in the same account/branch/country.