Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dropped packets - how many is normal?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Dropped packets - how many is normal?

So I recently started playing with netdata. Turns out one of my KVM servers is dropping a lot of incoming packets - consistently around 50-60 each second.

The server is basically idle. I can see the dropped count increasing with watch ifconfig ens3 looking under RX/dropped.

I did try exploring with tcpdump: it shows lots of ARP and "ICMP6 neighbor solicitation" packets. The server has IPv6 disabled at the kernel, so I guess I should expect a few dropped packets from that, but 60/second seemed surprising!

Comments

• deankdeank Member, Troll
    edited October 2019

Let your host know.
    Then cancel your plans with them OR chargeback.
    Then sue for mental damage.

Thanked by 1notty

• JordJord Moderator, Host Rep

Das nicht gut

• None, null, nill, zero. Packets must be delivered no matter what.

• ClouviderClouvider Member, Patron Provider

If you can see them in your OS that means they are dropped by your kernel.

Thanked by 2Janevski notty
  • jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran
    edited October 2019

I hate this meme but it’s too perfect for the thread: https://cloud.donnell.online/index.php/s/YDJokepoiWJ8cmM

(Yes I only based this on the thread title)

Thanked by 1notty
  • rm_rm_ IPv6 Advocate, Veteran

notty said: The server is basically idle. I can see the dropped count increasing with watch ifconfig ens3 looking under RX/dropped.