Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Need to buy a surveillance camera with 24/7 recording. Need help / recommendations.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Need to buy a surveillance camera with 24/7 recording. Need help / recommendations.

Hi all,

I know this is a hosting forum and not a surveillance forum. But I need to buy a (cheap) surveillance security cam for my office and I’m hoping someone here can help me. I have never bought one, so I’m a complete newbie on this.

Since it’s a small office I just need 1 cam, but it must have the following features:

a) Record day and night (night vision)

b) Automatic and continuous recording 24/7 to a external hard drive or NAS. Ideally it should save all video to my own external server hosted on a datacenter using something like nextcloud, ftp or any other software.

Until now I have just found (cheap) cameras that save the video to its own SD Card or just allow to see live video on a phone app. I don’t want that. As said before I need to save 24/7 video to an external location.

Any recommendation?

Note: Since I’m in Europe, the store where I will buy must also be in Europe. Something like Ebay.co.uk, Amazon.es or any other online shop located in Europe.

Thanks!

Comments

• FoulFoul Member
    edited May 2019

Netgear arlo's has a CVR add-on // for 30 days of 24/7 CVR $119 per year or $12/month per camera.

Arlo saves to cloud unfortunately, but you can grab it at anytime.

I highly recommend the arlo pro 2 / Only downside is no local saving unless you download it from the cloud.

• sanvitsanvit Member
    edited May 2019

https://github.com/samtap/fang-hacks