Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS Cluster with Loadbalancer Vs Dedicated server.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS Cluster with Loadbalancer Vs Dedicated server.

Hello,

I've been using VPS for my commercial site since 2017. But now the traffic is really outgrowing the demands of my current server(VPS). Therefore, to scale I am gonna add more resources to the environment.
1st Approach : Deploy 4 VPS;
a.vps (For Load balancing)
b.vps (For serving the website)
c.vps (For serving the website)
d.vps(For Database)

2nd Approch : Just Deploy a dedicated server & use it for everything

Possible Hosts that I'll be using,
For VPS: Linode, DigitalOcean, Ramnode, or Vultr.

For Dedicated server : Scaleway, OVH, Hetzner, Or Nocix.

So, I would like to know what LET has to say, which approach should I take & what would you have done if you were in my shoes. :)

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Chris.

Comments

• Definitely 1 if you want more availability and since you are generating that much traffic, 1 seems to be necessary to ensure more reliability and fallback and as far as I am concerned, you'd have to be doing something very high on steroids to ever go wrong with the providers you have mentioned on 1. I would actually recommend to add Amazon Lightsail in this case to the list of providers you are thinking about. Its the same pricing, has more zones and gives you access to scale further to full-blown AWS in case the traffic outgrows your resources.

Thanked by 1ChrisPandey
  • I might be wrong, but doesn't VPS providers limit CPU usage?.

If you are planning to have more than 1 VPS it means you've max the CPU right? That might get your service shut down.

On a dedi you can scale without worrying to exceed limits.