Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Windows VPS Security Issues
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Windows VPS Security Issues

Hope someone can help me on this.

I am struggling with security of the Windows VPS running windows 2008 R2. I am not an expert on it so all I need a simple VPS for minor stuff.

From my side, I've disable admin account and created a complex username with admin rights + port changed for the RDP but still it is being attached continuously. Is there a software which will ban the IP once it tries to login for more than 2 attempts?

I just wonder how can they find out new ports and username?

I've tried account lock out feature but it is not that helpful as it locks me out as well.
Thanks

Comments

• feezioxiiifeezioxiii Member, Host Rep
    edited March 2019

@forumsuk said:
    Hope someone can help me on this.

I am struggling with security of the Windows VPS running windows 2008 R2. I am not an expert on it so all I need a simple VPS for minor stuff.

From my side, I've disable admin account and created a complex username with admin rights + port changed for the RDP but still it is being attached continuously. Is there a software which will ban the IP once it tries to login for more than 2 attempts?

I just wonder how can they find out new ports and username?

I've tried account lock out feature but it is not that helpful as it locks me out as well.
    Thanks

1. If your main concern is about security, you shouldn't use Windows 2008 at the first place, do upgrade to 2012 or 2016 that is not @EOL

2. No need to disable Administrator account, you can change its username via local policy.