Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

high IO performance VPS needed
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

high IO performance VPS needed

liujasonliujason Member
edited January 2019 in Requests

I'm looking for a high IO performance VPS in any location with at least 500G disk and hopefully, 4+ Cores, use for ecological big data analysis.
About 3 billion rows of climate data (200G), divided into about 200 tables, each table is divided into 12 partitions. The data will grow with time about 10G per year.
This VPS will only use as the MariaDB server all the analysis work will be done in other servers.

Budget is limited since I'm still a Master student and I tend not to use the resources of the lab, so I don't have to worry about the ownership of the data when I graduate. I notice that netcup has an offer:https://www.netcup.de/bestellen/produkt.php?produkt=2283
8vCPU16GRam1.5TSSD@15 €/mo

Anyone can offer better than that? I'm planning to use it for long-term storage of my data and can do yearly payment.

Comments

• Remember that disk on netcup is actually HDD + cache

• @imok said:
    Remember that disk on netcup is actually HDD + cache

Sure,"1,5 TB SSD-Performance". That is all I need.

• Just go with them. You won’t find anything cheaper

• For that sort of thing I'd recommend a cheap dedicated server, storage vps tend to have reduced IO in favour of larger storage. If you want lots of fast IO storage it can't be too cheap, or it's oversold and slow.

Thanked by 2eol hostdare
  • @dahartigan said:
    For that sort of thing I'd recommend a cheap dedicated server, storage vps tend to have reduced IO in favour of larger storage. If you want lots of fast IO storage it can't be too cheap, or it's oversold and slow.