Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Setting dedicated server with VPS for personal use?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Setting dedicated server with VPS for personal use?

I have 3-4 VPS spread across various providers. I am looking to consolidate them on one dedicated server. I am new to it need some guidance.

Can someone guide me what kind of management tool i need to create VPS? I heard SolusVM & Proxmox? Proxmox good enough?

Do i need to purchase additional IPv4 addresses along with dedicated server from providers? All VPS need to be publicly accessible.

What kind of server config. would you suggest? Just need to run some RubyOnRails web-app, Wordpress websites with very low traffic, probably 200 - 400 page views in a day. And Plesk Onyx CP.

Any offers for a good low-end dedicated servers, around $15?

Thanks for help.

Comments

• Forget Solus and get virtualizor.

Kimsufi. (If your lucky)

Thanked by 1Ympker
  • randvegetarandvegeta Member, Host Rep

dipesh_batheja said: Any offers for a good low-end dedicated servers, around $15?

Dedicated server would cost more that that unless you're talking about something like a Raspberry Pi, or some ultra low power (probably arm based) server.

Presumably you need an x86 based CPU, so the lowest power option is probably something like an Atom, which will use at least 30 watts at idle.

In most of Europe, you're looking at electricity cost of around 4 EUR /month without cooling, and upto 8 EUR /month with cooling.

USA and any other place with cheap power, it could be less than half that.

But any half decent performing Atom would be newish and therefore cost a fair bit (500 EUR?) and so no one would want to rent it at a price that would take 3-5 years to recoup.