Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please recommend me a home router. Budget €120 - Page 2
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Please recommend me a home router. Budget €120

2»

Comments

• JarryJarry Member

@nqservices said:
    My main concern is security and Ubiquiti was well recommended around here. Can you post some links where I can read about that security flaws? Also if for you Ubiquiti is out of the question, what is your advice? Thanks!

You can find much more on internet, but this could be good starting point:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ubiquiti_Networks#Security_issues

Personally, I have been using mikrotik for a few years, but felt somehow limited by RouterOS so I decided to try something else. The router I'm using now is based on PC-Engines apu2 board, which is basically small x86-64 compatible computer with low power consumption:

http://www.pcengines.ch/apu2.htm

With 1GHz quad-core, 2/4GB ram, 2x miniPCIe and mSATA it is very versatile and you can configure it according to your needs. With a little effort you can install basically any x86-64 compatible OS (I'm running ipfire now, but tested pure debian, opnsense and sophos-utm too). BTW it is using coreboot open-source bios/firmware, that's one more extra point...

• TomTom Member

@Jarry said:

>

Personally, I have been using mikrotik for a few years

ಠ_ಠ

• LeviLevi Member

Mikrotik all the way!

Thanked by 1FHR
  • Orange Pi Win + RJ-45 USB adapters

• kerouackerouac Member

some people like turris omnia

• AlexanderMAlexanderM Member, Top Host, Host Rep

Netgear R7000 :)

Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r32170M kongac (06/11/17)
    Time: 21:12:44 up 138 days, 13:58, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00

Thanked by 1Ole_Juul
  • JarryJarry Member

@kerouac said: