Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Feedwordpress VPS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Feedwordpress VPS

ElfminsterElfminster Member
edited February 2012 in General

I am currently looking for a VPS for a Wordpress autoblog running Feedwordpress. I have been working on the web site for a few months and I am finally ready to find a decent host. I don't have a lot of money, at least for the moment, so I ended up on this great web site looking for something I can afford. I am not after miracles and understand you get what you pay for.

I will not be running a splog of any sort; it's more of a Google News type of web site for a niche market. I won't even have advertisements on it. The topic is a hobby of mine. I expect to have about 100 Feedwordpress RSS feeds updating every hour or so.

I have developed locally, and signed up for a free month (test run hoping their services would accommodate my requirements after the first month) on Site 5 with their VPS1 (2 x 2.93GHZ & 756MB RAM for $40 per monthy). I had problems...

Message 1

It appears that your site(s) used more memory resources than what is available on your current VPS1 level server. if this is persistent, I would suggest upgrading to a higher level VPS as frequent reboots can lead to file system corruption or even possibly data loss. Let us know if you have any questions or with to proceed with an upgrade.

Message 2

Your vps was not responding and we had to reboot it. Your vps was running out of memory and we have found these process consuming most resources.

====
mysql 50.27 4.25 0.0
Top Process %CPU 53.9 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir/ --datadir/var/lib/mysql --usermysql --pid-file/var/lib/mysql/ding.webserversystems.com.pid --skip-external-locking