Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Questions about what to expect with some of these deals
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Questions about what to expect with some of these deals

Kia ora from New Zealand.

I'm a novice webDev who tinkers with frameworks in my spare time. Until last year I was using a managed and expensive reseller service. Not having root access forced me to look @ other options and a friend pointed me to LowEndBox.

I was blown away by some of the offers but thought to be patient with the idea, "If it's sounds too good to be true, it probably is." I ended up choosing a storage option VPS with 100GB and low specs. This was a dev environment and playground more than anything else. I had a couple of sites that I was hosting as well and since they were low traffic I moved them over.

It was a huge learning curve for me to set up and configure the server. Awesome experience though.

A couple of weeks ago this provider sent a poorly worded email that said I needed to choose a new package as they were no longer offering the one I signed up for. They weren't asking for more money but telling me that I needed to choose a new package within four days. I actually didn't see this email and somehow it ended up in my trash folder.

I'm a busy person with a full time and demanding job so I can go weeks without even looking at the domains I have hosted. I didn't see the email and didn't notice the downtime until the day before yesterday. I contacted them via their ticketing thing and they took a day to respond with:

"I don't even sure if your data still there. this mail was sent since 27th March and dead line was 1st April and now it's 11th April."