Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to (easily) setup secure webserver, for testing
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

How to (easily) setup secure webserver, for testing

iburgeriburger Member
edited February 2018 in Help

I would like to run my Python webserver in the cloud. But I am not very good at Apache, or Nginx. (I know nginx a little bit better). I would prefer to just run "python start server" with a cronjob. That works, but that also exposes my webservice to the world. And this aint all that secure.

Perhaps I could...

• Create a VPN service between "me" and the linux box in the cloud. Somehow, make the virtual box a local box in my network. (I have a cheap old linux WRT 54GL router)

• Restrict access to the linux box, and bind it to my IP address. If you have the wrong IP, you won't be able to see my insecure webserver service.

What do y'all think?

Comments

• Learn an automation orchestrator like Ansible or Puppet. Spin up nodes on demand and take them down when you don't need them.

Thanked by 1Aidan
  • iburger said: exposes my webservice to the world

Well yes, it's called the worldwide web for a reason ;). Simplest approach if you want to restrict it for testing is (in apache) use "deny all" and "accept 12.34.56.78" or whatever your address is, or do something similar with nginx or iptables. Setting up a vpn is more hardcore but more complicated.

• HarambeHarambe Member, Host Rep

For personal stuff I just restrict access to my IPs using UFW. Too lazy to modify the apache or nginx conf, just only open port 80/443 to my IPs

Thanked by 1willie
  • pikepike Veteran
    edited February 2018

@willie said:

Setting up a vpn is more hardcore but more complicated.