Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

?any advice for a complete noob who wants to migrate to self-hosted nextcloud
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

?any advice for a complete noob who wants to migrate to self-hosted nextcloud

starbuckstarbuck Member
edited January 2018 in Help

Dear all,

I'd like to migrate from Google mail/calendar/docs to a personal nextcloud instance and self-hosted mail server. In the future I'm hoping to move over to the Purism Librem phone, so, without wanting to sound like a member of the knit-your-own-cheese brigade, I'd like to already have moved my life out of the Google ecosystem before it arrives. The best/cheapest way to do this appears to be with a low end VPS.

My impression is that for my personal (light) use 512Mb RAM, 50GB HDD, and 500GB bandwidth would suffice to get started with, but I'd love something I could cheaply increase to twice that if my family members wanted to migrate to it (unlikely, but possible they'd like to try).

My computing ability is very much "see it on youtube, have a go...". My ability to migrate once I've committed to a provider may be limited. I'd like to choose well!

Some of the available deals seem amazing if underpowered (e.g.: liteserver's 128mb ram/100GB SSD for £16/yr). Please may I ask if my assessment of my needs seems within the realm of normality, and if so, which providers anyone might recommend? I'd ideally like something in Europe for < $30/yr. I'd be happy to pay for a few years up front if that helps at all.

Yours faithfully and with apologies if there's already a guide for finding a provider (I looked but couldn't really find anything that would help me discriminate meaningfully!),
Al

Comments

1. What is your budget?