Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Strange cpanel issue - if using www in front, I get the default server page.
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Strange cpanel issue - if using www in front, I get the default server page.

I'm pretty new with WHM/Cpanel - I have control on a server with around 200 sites.
This time I have issues on one of the sites.

The main domain is working fine - let us call it domain1.com, we have used default settings on the Cpanel account/plan like all the others.
In the DNS settings, we are using www as CNAME. On the domain we host at a registrar we have updated dns settings, and using www as CNAME there also.

But the site is not accepting www at all. And of course, the webdesigner of the site has hardcoded some www links.

We then tried to change DNS settings both on the Cpanel server and on the domain from CNAME to A record, pointing www A record to the server IP.
Then we just get the default server page.

We also tried to add www2 as CNAME and www3 as A record, updating both DNS (BIND) on Cpanel and on the domain. With the same result, that we just get the default server page.

But if I create www2 as a subdomain in Cpanel, pointing it to the public_html root, it work right away.
Of course, Cpanel don't allow me to create www as a subdomain.

What is wrong? And how can I solve it? Just tried on another domain on the same server, and the same happens there, so it has to be a Cpanel issue? Or a CentOS issue?

Comments

• jarjar Patron Provider, Top Host, Veteran

I'm assuming base config for the account is fine and normal, in which case try:

/scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd

• @myhken said: