Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What is the impact of each parameter ? How to integrate it in choosing a web hosting ?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What is the impact of each parameter ? How to integrate it in choosing a web hosting ?

voutyvouty Member
edited September 2013 in Providers

Hi !
I'm pretty new in hosting. I have my own website (LMS) and first I started by an illimited solution .... not going too fast.
Now I've been with a Justhost account with for 1 year and began to test DigitalOcean 2 months ago.
My problem is that I don't understand exactly the impact of each parameter of solutions. I read a lot of stuff ... too far from business. Right now I'd like to have a feedback from professional because I'm starting a business on internet .
So, my parameters are :
_ Webmaster in Canada
_ Customers : North America , Europe , (Asia, Australia)
_ Memory 512B memory and possibility to increase depending of number of customers
_ Response time : "acceptable"
_ HDD : 20GB
_ Transfert : 500GB/month

So, after looking to different offers, my questions are :
_ Is it a robust solution to have backups without the ability to download them ?
_ What is the meaning , in the real world, of this : "The only bandwidth limitation is your 30Mbps bandwidth limit imposed on the entire hosting account." ? is it a good information ?
_ Is it easy generally easy to upgrade a solution from 512 Mb to 1Gb, 2Gb ?
_ If I consider that : 2Gb (RAM)/ 2 Cores /20Gb (HDD) and Tranfert of 500GB/month is enough for my needs (N concurrent users) , Does it mean that no other parameter can affect performance ( I'm thinking something like XX Mbs bandwidth ...) ?