Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Green/Eco friendly hosts.. - Page 2
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Green/Eco friendly hosts..

2»

Comments

• @randvegeta said:

>

Just out of curiosity, what do you do for a living? Are you a business owner or an employee?

I ask because a tax on emissions is generally designed to influence behavior. So the mere fact a company is getting tax, would encourage that company to seek alternative methods of manufacture or operation to avoid that tax. It does not destroy the economy, it shifts it.

I'm a student, university.

I'm not in the mood to have a climate and not economic debate on LET, this the last short post on this subject.

Yes taxes make people want to avoid them, it's somewhat good. But...

A goverment that is many billions into debt doesn't give a single f*ck about the environment, on one side they drop bombs, and then come talking that companies should reduce CO2 emissions, and tax them. And guess what, that tax money doesn't go to development of better solar panels or anything alike.

• randvegetarandvegeta Member, Host Rep
    edited November 2017

vovler said: A goverment that is many billions into debt doesn't give a single f*ck about the environment, on one side they drop bombs, and then come talking that companies should reduce CO2 emissions, and tax them. And guess what, that tax money doesn't go to development of better solar panels or anything alike.

First of all, many governments (at least in the EU) have many subsidies for energy efficiency improvements and renewable energy investment. As mentioned above, there are subsidies for insulation and solar installation, so tax money IS going toward funding these things. The EU grants cover upto 80% of these things.