Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Choosing OS for Low-Memory VPS
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Choosing OS for Low-Memory VPS

LuckManLuckMan Member
edited November 2017 in Help

Hi. I'm new to VPS (never have one) and am planing to buy one for temporary storage purposes. Basically, I'm going to use the VPS as an intermediate (IDK if that's the right word). I'll download files from direct links/torrents (no seeding) to my VPS and then upload the files to my personal cloud storage, and that's it.
So, from that functionality requirements, the server needs to be able to run Torrent Client, occasional Web Browser (because my cloud storage is web-based, GUI needed) and RDP, which is problematic for me because I have very little experience and knowledge about Linux/UNIX based OS, almost zero experience using VPS and not a network savvy. I used my friend's VPS not a long time ago but I only scratched the surface using RDP from my Windows 7 PC. The other problem is that I have a very limited budget and can only afford VPS with 512 MB RAM and 300GB disk space.
The question is, what OS and architecture (32-bit or 64-bit) should I choose?
The options are:
1. CentOS version 5, 6, 7 (32 & 64)
2. Debian 6, 7, 8 (32 & 64)
3. Fedora 20 (32 & 64); 21, 22, 23 (64)
4. Ubuntu Server 12.04, 14.02 (32 & 64); 15.04, 16.04 (64)
Also, I hear that 32-bit Linux doesn't support large files (> 2GB)? Is it still or it's just an old story? My files are going to be larger than 2GB, so if it's true then I need to put that into consideration too.
Please state the reason if you don't mind.

P.S.: Sorry if it's such a mess, my first time here. I hope put this in the correct category (newbie). :D

Comments