Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GoDaddy switched to IIS?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Comments

• Probably got sold by a .NET salesman, aka Microsoft shop. Moved to Sharepoint etc.

• skaska Member

This might have the reason that IIS is quite fast and ressource saving for static content, which Godaddy is serving for its parked domains.

• edited August 2013

@ska said:
    This might have the reason that IIS is quite fast and ressource saving for static content, which Godaddy is serving for its parked domains.

That test was completed on IIS7. IIS8 is faster still.

• SplitIceSplitIce Member, Host Rep
    edited August 2013

I am still extremely sceptical of those results, as a C# developer by trade I did my own tests on this matter when considering the suitability of ASP.Net (I currently develop for the web in PHP). Although granted the test was conducted pretty non scientifically (installing windows + IIS on a KVM, formatting and installing debian + nginx). I never even got close to the same performance.

I suppose configuration probably matters however. I know quite alot of nginx, but not much IIS config. I wonder about this test....

• @ska said:

I implore you. Paying for Windows license is worth dealing with IIS and all the related problems?

I can't believe that Nginx on Linux can't outperform IIS on Windows on computer with the same specs.

Ah, yes, setting up and tuning Linux might require some brains. Sorry if this hurt someone's senses.

• What? People are not using A-Patch-Ee anymore?

• skaska Member
    edited August 2013

@Master_Bo said:
    I implore you. Paying for Windows license is worth dealing with IIS and all the related problems?