Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Server Backups
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Server Backups

decaydecay Member

Hey Guys,

Im quite new here, and a server noob. Well, i been reading these forums/website here and there in the past, and purchased couple of vps deals from here :)

For starters, im a Linux noob, so every time with a vps i install something similar to virtualmin and manage everything through that.

Im at a point where i need to make a decent production server. It doesnt have to be amazing, so a stable vps should do it. Havent decided which to use yet, but thats on my todo list (i currently have 2 vps's from chicago vps, and urpad i think for my dev work hosting/testing).

So the question is, when i setup the new production vps, i would need a decent backup system. I know virtualmin can easily plug in and do automatic backups etc. So do you guys have any suggestions on where is a good place to do backups? Any cheap services? Frequency of backups?

Main things that would be hosted on the server are going to be wordpress websites and git/svn repos. So i doubt they will be very big. Currently i have couple of 100 mb's, but im sure this will grow. And i do wish to host my own dropbox equivalent (owncloud) to manage my projects etc too. If/when i do, this will start getting decently big.

So what are your recommendations? Can i just buy one of those cheap website hosts (that claim to have unlimited bandwidth/storage etc) and use its ftp as a backup server (might be against their t&c's though)? Or is there a better option?

Thanks in advance...

Comments

• wdqwdq Member