Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Best Linux OS for 128MB RAM swap 256mb?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Best Linux OS for 128MB RAM swap 256mb?

ravenchadravenchad Member
edited July 2013 in Help

Hi kLEBS,

What should be the best linux OS (and also version) for 128MB RAM swap 256mb VPS server.
Is GNOME desktop still possible with this memory?

Ubuntu or CentOS?

Thanks. newbie here

Comments

• I wouldn't recommend GNOME desktop. Both Ubuntu and CentOS are fine if you install them from a template. Ubuntu is a bit more beginner-friendly in my experience (especially when it comes to network configuration and software availability).

Thanked by 1ravenchad
  • @mpkossen said:
    I wouldn't recommend GNOME desktop. Both Ubuntu and CentOS are fine if you install them from a template. Ubuntu is a bit more beginner-friendly in my experience (especially when it comes to network configuration and software availability).

Thanks.
    Any alternative for GNOME?

• awsonawson Member

@ravenchad said:
    Any alternative for GNOME?

Xfce

Thanked by 1ravenchad
  • trexostrexos Member

I use debian 6 minimal images 4MB in idle running. You could install xfce later, I think that should work :)

Thanked by 1ravenchad
  • @awson @trexos, Thank guys. i'll try this both! Another thing, is firefox possible to run with this system?

• @ravenchad Debian, minimal install for server purposes, and forget about the swap. Don't use it.

Thanked by 1ravenchad
  • @ravenchad said:
    awson trexos, Thank guys. i'll try this both! Another thing, is firefox possible to run with this system?

Both Firefox and Chrome tend to eat up quite some memory considering you've only got 128MB. Don't think that's possible.

Thanked by 1ravenchad