Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Free status script
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Free status script

taronyutaronyu Member

I have been looking for this for several days but there is nothing I like. I don't want to run a web server on all my boxes, or other tools. I'm only looking for a small script that pings a server and tells me if it is up or down. I also don't want to use 3rd party tools (like uptime robot).

The only thing I found so far is this:
https://github.com/AndrewGertig/uptime
But with all his ruby trash it is impossible to run this on a LEB.

Anybody that can help me with this?

Comments

• trexostrexos Member

I'm not good at PHP but I made exactly that. It's just a white site with hostname, location and Off or online. Do you want the script?

• SpiritSpirit Member

I don't want to run a web server on all my boxes

This! All those nice server status scripts introduced and widely used at LET/LEB require on every remote server webserver installed. It's not problem to pick master server with webserver but I really don't want to install webserver on every remote vps server.

tl;dr

I am looking for the same thing.

Thanked by 1taronyu
  • trexostrexos Member

Yeah, I think that too. I don't wan't to run a web server on my boxes, especially not on the small ones and that's why I made this script but it only pings the server and it looks really ugly.

• netomxnetomx Moderator, Veteran

I made one, look at my previous posts

• @trexos said:
    Yeah, I think that too. I don't wan't to run a web server on my boxes, especially not on the small ones and that's why I made this script but it only pings the server and it looks really ugly.

If you want to share it :)

@netomx said: