Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

VPS Backup
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

VPS Backup

plumbergplumberg Veteran

I am new to the VPS world. I recently got VPS services from ChicagoVPS, and last week, it was the whole exploit thing which led to several of my sites hosted there being down.

So, I have decided to keep an offsite backup. My question is what is the data which I need to backup inorder to ensure that if I move providers / a fresh vps is provided to me, I can get up and running in least possible time.

1. I am using VirtualMin on CentOS 6. Does a simple inbuilt-backup of Virtualmin suffice? Any other directories which I need to backup?

2. I take a backup of the whole VPS ( tar of / directory), and save it in my offsite server. If I need to move providers or restore to a new VPS, a simple untar of the file will work or it will not?

Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• Install rsync and sync your files. Then once your server is tainted, build a new one and rsync back.

• any quick example to use rsync to backup/ restore?
    Also, is it for whole server (from root)? or just specific directories?

• http://troy.jdmz.net/rsync/index.html

Only the files you have put there that can't be installed as quickly.

• Hmm, I saw Virtualmin documentation, their backup and restore option is decent. So, as long as I have a bckup of sites and configuration, I should be all set.

• @plumberg - yes. But also make sure you test your backup from time to time (at least make sure it's not '0 bytes' or months-old). It's better safe than sorry...

• Ahhh, yes, thats true. But, I am not sure where will I test the backup, I do not have a spare VPS to try.