Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

HPC minicluster on OpenVZ or KVM possible?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

HPC minicluster on OpenVZ or KVM possible?

bustersgbustersg Member
edited May 2017 in Help

i need to setup a small HPC cluster (1 head + 5 compute nodes) for my office.
however i have no experience but would like to experiment on budget openvz / kvm plans on my own before commit myself to office environment.

https://openhpc.community/

is it possible to setup above using openvz or kvm... assume i purchase 2 vps plan (1 head and 1 compute node).

Comments

• bustersg said: assume i purchase 2 vps plan (1 head and 1 compute node)

I think you need minimum 2 compute nodes for testing.

• thekreekthekreek Member
    edited May 2017

You need at least 1 master and 2 slaves, KVM will be the best option.
    Use the same provider for all your VM's and the same datacenter. otherwise your going to have network issues.
    Also monitor your CPU usage on all your VM's, if you exceed your CPU usage your provider might end killing your VM's or your contract.
    Look for dedicated CPU usage, maybe a slice (4096 or higher) from BuyVM will work @Franciso could clear that.

• teamaccteamacc Member

Or try some @exception0x876 wishosting.com offers

Thanked by 1exception0x876
  • Gamma17Gamma17 Member

If you just want to experiment, why dont you simply run few VM-s on your local PC? It will be easier, faster and free...

Thanked by 1flatland_spider
  • @Gamma17 said:
    If you just want to experiment, why dont you simply run few VM-s on your local PC? It will be easier, faster and free...

i prefer to a little maybe subscribe 3 months KVM plan to proper simulate actual servers environment.