Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

SolusVM Audit Update - Page 3
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

SolusVM Audit Update

Comments

• I'm trying to find decent words to describe the amount of fail, stupidity and arrogance of SolusLabs but I can't.

• MaouniqueMaounique Host Rep, Veteran

@Evo said:
    At least, this exploit was not that obvious.

@mpkossen said:
    I'm trying to find decent words to describe the amount of fail, stupidity and arrogance of SolusLabs but I can't.

Well, something like Evo said: This time the hole was not as big as the moon, it is easy to miss.
    In times like this I am happy I am not a programmer.

I used to write such bad code, in such a laziness to comment it that if I didnt finish the program in one day, was impossible to remember next day what i did there, what were the variables I used, things like those.

I will abstain from crticizing too much, however, it is obvious that an average coder would have done better in the first case, while the last one is too complex to assess, but I presume many people would have done this mistake.

• rds100rds100 Member

You think SolusLabs is bad? How about WHMCS...

• rds100rds100 Member

At least they change the version number when they release a patch... so you know exactly which version you have.

• @mpkossen said:
    An external security audit sounds all good and everything, but it doesn't fix bad programming and stubbornness.

Exactly!

• jbilohjbiloh Administrator, Veteran

So who has been brave enough to re-enable API access with the new Solus version?

• @jbiloh said:
    So who has been brave enough to re-enable API access with the new Solus version?

Or.. who would like to be the first target in new vulnerability testing?