Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Floating IP Networking
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Floating IP Networking

Here is a networking question I have in my head right now. In the past I have had some IP blocks being enabled to be used on any number of a few servers. I know it was due to a VLAN, my provider called it pooling, though I assume thats more of a marketing term they came up with.

By being used I mean I could hop a VM from A to B without a disconnection.

Is a VLAN the only way this is done? I am not an expert in networking so trying to research this.

Thanks.

Comments

• AlexBarakovAlexBarakov Patron Provider, Veteran

Unless, you're doing some HA setup, you can't just "hop" it without any disconnection. If in same vlan, you can migrate from node A to node B, without IP changes.

• Thats what I am planning right now. Im just trying to get more in depth on how it actually works rather than treat it like magic. Any explanations would be beneficial.

• ClouviderClouvider Member, Patron Provider

Erm, a single broadcast and L2 domain. Be it native in the switch or configured. If between DCs you're looking at either taking out VPLS multipoint, MPLS point-to-point or EVPN across the sites with some connectivity provider (like us for example ;]).

• @Clouvider said:
    Erm, a single broadcast and L2 domain. Be it native in the switch or configured. If between DCs you're looking at either taking out VPLS multipoint, MPLS point-to-point or EVPN across the sites with some connectivity provider (like us for example ;]).

Please no acronyms as 90% of that went over my head.

• rskrsk Member, Patron Provider

@pcfreak30 said:

@Clouvider said:

Seriously? Not even MPLS?