Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The best place to start -
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

The best place to start -

Hello, all!

I have been playing with PCs since 1984, with the IBM PCjr. This computer had no hard drive, required a cartridge in order to read the language the software was programmed in, and had a wireless keyboard - using IR tech.

Since then, I have just been an end user of tech, never digging in too deep. Lately, I've been interested in learning how to run a game server. I would like to learn to do it in Linux, but I don't know exactly where to start.

Can you help by linking in some of the best "starter newb" videos you know of? Where do you recommend someone begin?

Comments

• Howdy, Oldster!

I'd suggest finding a distribution which is known to be easy to use, and has a "Live" system, which will run mostly/entirely off a DVD/CD, and won't make changes to your computer (unless you tell it to). I'd recommend starting with either Ubuntu, or Mint - as they're both quite simple to use, but have a Debian (very popular Linux distribution) base, and quite active forums.

Your best bet to get useful information is reading, and trying it yourself- which you won't necessarily get by watching videos alone.

• raindog308raindog308 Administrator, Veteran

Isophix said: BM PCjr

My condolences. I owned many of those 80s PCs (TRS80, Timex Sinclair, 8086/8088/etc. white box, Atari 800, etc.) but never made that particular mistake. I did however (20 years later) write a paper about it in school about the legendary marketing failure that was the PcJr. It's actually a textbook example now of the dangers of subtractive marketing.

Anyway...