Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Anyone running Plex on a VPS?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Anyone running Plex on a VPS?

I'm pretty new to Plex and would like to try it out on a VPS. I have been using Put.io for online torrenting and it's great, but I would prefer Plex because it supports so many platforms.

Could I run Plex of a 1 GB RAM VPS? I know there are some nice guides available but what is the easiest way? Bash script? Provider that offers Plex on VPS?

My budget is $10. Anything over and I can just stick to put.io.

Comments

• Plex put a lot pressure on CPU during transcoding, VPS with dedicated cores will work.

zxhost seems a good option @AshleyUK

• ZXHost seems interesting. Dedicated Plex Media Hosting. I will only be the only one using it, maybe a few times weekly. Any idea if they do custom plans?

• Will PM you a deal we just did for another client using Plex, also using one myself on the same node.

• @ratherbak3d said:
    Will PM you a deal we just did for another client using Plex, also using one myself on the same node.

Drop me a PM also pls

• Gerrard8 said: Drop me a PM also pls

Have done. Thank you for your interest.

• @ratherbak3d said:
    Will PM you a deal we just did for another client using Plex, also using one myself on the same node.

I'd appreciate a PM with the details also ;)

• Should run fine, just be aware it will eat CPU if it needs to transcode which your provider might not like.

Find out what their CPU policy is.

• mikhomikho Member, Host Rep

I ran it on a Crissic 512mb special.
    Worked as expected.