Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do you have your own VOIP server?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

Do you have your own VOIP server?

kampungkampung Member
edited September 2012 in General

I just got a freelance work to setup a voip server. One is using kamailio, the other is using freeswitch.
I'm really new to this VOIP world, and feel excited that we can easily use our own VOIP server instead of using skype or other VOIP provider.
The VOIP server also doesn't need much resource, it can run fine on my LEB.
Do you have your own VOIP server? If yes, can you share your experience/usage?

Thanks.

Comments

• I have my own Asterisk running with a DID number for people to join me from their landline/mobile phones. I also have a provider for PSTN calls - mostly free to all landline destinations in major countries.

• @corehosting said: I also have a provider for PSTN calls - mostly free to all landline destinations in major countries.

Which countries? which provider?

• corehostingcorehosting Member
    edited September 2012

http://www.justvoip.com/ < This is the one i'm using after trying something like 5
    Charging 10€ of credit gives you 120days of free calls. Then you call on the low rates.

I don't have any telephone line in my flat as i get internet through cable so all my phone communications are getting through Asterisk

Also means you can receive calls on your Android phone when you're not home - Over wifi because over 3G it's definitely not that great.

Thanked by 1kampung
  • DolingoDolingo Member
    edited September 2012

Very interesting topic.
    What's the difference between Asterix and kamailio?
    Any advise on setting up such a server in a LEB?

Thanks