Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What to expect in the hosting industry?
New on LowEndTalk? Please Register and read our Community Rules.

All new Registrations are manually reviewed and approved, so a short delay after registration may occur before your account becomes active.

What to expect in the hosting industry?

CrogicCrogic Member
edited July 2014 in General

I wanted to know how hard it is to start in this business. I got the skills required, I work as a Linux Administrator and consider myself proficient in Linux, well that's what I do for a living. I have experience with kvm and openvz (I haven't played around with xen that much).

I currently have 2 dedicated server with OVH that I was using for projects, I already got SolusVM up and running (1 server as master and the other as slave).

My questions are the following:

1. With how many servers should I start with?
  2. How much money should I put upfront?
  3. What are expectations in the first months?
  4. Is it time consuming (like 24/7)?
  5. What are the liabilities?
  6. What do I need (Billing panel, Licenses, Etc)

Thank you

Comments

• doughmanesdoughmanes Member
    edited July 2014

said: What are expectations in the first months?

LEB/LET will see you as competition as their favorite provider so LETtards and LEBheads will accuse you of everything. Hang out on this forum. You'll see it everyday

said: Is it time consuming (like 24/7)?

Some providers point fingers at others while at the same time, their public facing stuff goes down then they scream they were on vacation. It's a business that operates 24/7, it will be time consuming 24/7

• trewqtrewq Administrator, Patron Provider

You should be speaking to a business advisor/accountant/lawyer about most of those questions.

• CrogicCrogic Member

@trewq said:
    You should be speaking to a business advisor/accountant/lawyer about most of those questions.