Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

5x 3 months PowerBox Micro for free for a small review

5x 3 months PowerBox Micro for free for a small review

fileMEDIAfileMEDIA Member
edited September 2012 in Offers

Hi,

we setup a new node group with shared storage for live migration with solusvm. We written a small script to migrate VMs between to servers with libvirt migrate command and the solusvm api for nodeid change process. We want to test this setup with a few users.

We need 5 more for our setup...

Serverbear reviews: http://serverbear.com/9810/filemedia VPS info: https://www.filemedia.de/powerbox_micro.php

3 months for free, after that you can buy or cancel with out anything. We only want a small review about the vps here in this discussion. Not more!

Discount code is limited to 5 servers.

What to do?

1) Go to: https://www.filemedia.de/manager/cart.php?gid=12 2) Enter discount code: "lowendtalk" (code is limited to 5 users with only 1 PowerBox Micro) 3) Get a free vps for 3 months 4) Write a small review here!

Thanks!

fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

Comments

  • TazTaz Disabled
    edited September 2012

    When you say review, you mean benchmark right? Other wise, it sounds like bribing.

    Time is good and also bad. Life is short and that is sad. Dont worry be happy thats my style. No matter what happens i won't lose my smile!

    Thanked by 1Asim
  • joodlejoodle Member
    edited September 2012

    Got one! Will do a review soon

    EDIT: Too bad it's all in german... But lucky me i do understand german a bit

  • Not only a benchmark, i think a review about all parts of the service. We do over the free months a few live migration between to nodes. If you see anything, take it in your review.

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

  • " # The supplied VAT Number is not valid # "

    It's not asking me for a VAT number and I'm from the US, not the UK, so a VAT number shouldn't be needed, yeah?

    vpsBoard.com - Now with over 450 members! A friendly community with active discussion. Come join us!

    IRC.FREENODE.NET #vpsBoard - Drop by and say, 'Hello'.
  • Got one! I will review asap!

  • You don´t need any VAT for this test, free :)

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

  • edited September 2012

    It won't let me register without it.

    image

    vpsBoard.com - Now with over 450 members! A friendly community with active discussion. Come join us!

    IRC.FREENODE.NET #vpsBoard - Drop by and say, 'Hello'.
  • got one, would be nice if everything is in english :)

    http://BornIn.Asia - FREE shared hosting and subdomain service for LET members! Click here to see how to get one yourself! 96Forum: Low End VPS Discussions. Selling domains with GApp with various user counts (10 year reg incl. for some), PM for details.

  • @MannDude Don´t use company style, use a privat registration.

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

  • edited September 2012

    And I assume all 5 slots have been filled now. Fuck my life.

    Yeah, it's still demanding a VAT despite all the fields being filled in properly with my correct info, I chose the US, put in my US address and info....

    Yay! Finally got it to go through, but now it's wanting to charge me so as I suspected the trial slots were filled while I struggled with registration. =[

    vpsBoard.com - Now with over 450 members! A friendly community with active discussion. Come join us!

    IRC.FREENODE.NET #vpsBoard - Drop by and say, 'Hello'.
  • My review:

    DD Test (3x) 1st:

    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 7.18276 s, 149 MB/s

    2nd:

    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 8.62643 s, 124 MB/s

    3rd:

    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 6.66334 s, 161 MB/s

    CPU Info

    processor       : 0
    vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
    cpu family      : 6
    model           : 13
    model name      : QEMU Virtual CPU version (cpu64-rhel6)
    stepping        : 3
    cpu MHz         : 3392.292
    cache size      : 4096 KB
    fdiv_bug        : no
    hlt_bug         : no
    f00f_bug        : no
    coma_bug        : no
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 4
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx lm up pni cx16 hypervisor lahf_lm
    bogomips        : 6784.58
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:

    CPU Shows more then the "500 Mhz" wich was shown on the order form

    After i signed up, i got an email within 2 minutes that my VPS was ready I reinstalled it with Debian 6.0.5 32Bit Minimal and within 5 minutes it was installed

    Gonna do some more tests soon!

  • fileMEDIAfileMEDIA Member
    edited September 2012

    All done! No free slots! @joodle We limited the cpu not on MHz..we use cpu limit feature from qemu.

    Thanks for all registration!

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

  • Breitstellung nach Bezahlung Einrichtungsgebühr Mindestvertragslaufzeit

    Wow, those are some nice parameters!

  • We have no setup fee, minimum term of contract and all server will be setup after payment within 10 min.

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

  • acarrascopeacarrascope Banned
    edited September 2012

    i test it with the Centos 5 default just after install

    vielen Dank für die Zeitfahr-und KVM

    finally my French classes are worth

    Im out

  • @acarrascope said: finally my French classes are worth

    Erm... This is German -.-

  • @joodle said: Erm... This is German

    Some French still talk german :O

    Im out

  • InfinityInfinity Retired Staff

    @acarrascope said: Some French still talk german :O

    So you learn German in your French class. Awesome, still sounds better than my school though.

    我是一个巨魔 (;

    Thanked by 1acarrascope
  • @Infinity said: So you learn German in your French class. Awesome, still sounds better than my school though

    :) try World History too. Was a joke with history behind. A black one :)

    Im out

  • acarrascopeacarrascope Banned
    edited September 2012

    @fileMEDIA said: We only want a small review about the vps here in this discussion.

    After install Centos 5.5 i run some benchmarks, the results are in the next thread where after 1 month i update with a review.

    Benchmarks for fileMEDIA.de Plan MICRO KVM 256RAM 15GB

    Thanks for Trial Time.

    Im out

  • Ok, thanks! We starting next week with some live migration tests between two nodes. I hope you don´t see anything from that. No ip changes or downtime..I hope :)

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

  • Oh God! I miss the shot..

  • fwayfway Member
    edited September 2012

    I ran some test and this is my results:

     $ bash bench.sh
    CPU model :  QEMU Virtual CPU version (cpu64-rhel6)
    Number of cores : 1
    CPU frequency :  3392.292 MHz
    Total amount of ram : 248 MB
    Total amount of swap : 483 MB
    System uptime :   7:45,
    Download speed from CacheFly: 14.3MB/s
    Download speed from Linode, Atlanta GA: 2.32MB/s
    Download speed from Linode, Dallas, TX: 2.91MB/s
    Download speed from Linode, Tokyo, JP: 1.95MB/s
    Download speed from Linode, London, UK: 13.4MB/s
    Download speed from Leaseweb, Haarlem, NL: 9.80MB/s
    Download speed from Softlayer, Singapore: 734KB/s
    Download speed from Softlayer, Seattle, WA: 313KB/s
    Download speed from Softlayer, San Jose, CA: 2.88MB/s
    Download speed from Softlayer, Washington, DC: 3.63MB/s
    I/O speed :  163 MB/s
    
    
  • fwayfway Member
    edited September 2012

    I installed nginx and then download 100 mb file.

    From limestone network, Dallas

    $ wget http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test -O /dev/null
    --2012-09-24 07:47:27--  http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test
    Resolving kvm01.test.fway.me... 84.23.64.173
    Connecting to kvm01.test.fway.me|84.23.64.173|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
    Saving to: `/dev/null'
    
    100%[======================================>] 104,857,600 2.03M/s   in 94s
    
    2012-09-24 07:49:02 (1.06 MB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]
    
    

    From VKS Kimsufi, San Jose

     $ wget http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test -O /dev/null
    --2012-09-24 08:00:13--  http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test
    Resolving kvm01.test.fway.me... 84.23.64.173
    Connecting to kvm01.test.fway.me|84.23.64.173|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
    Saving to: `/dev/null'
    
    100%[======================================>] 104,857,600 3.33M/s   in 33s
    
    2012-09-24 08:00:46 (3.00 MB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]
    

    From Prometeus Italy

     $ wget http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test -O /dev/null
    --2012-09-24 07:55:07--  http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test
    Resolving kvm01.test.fway.me... 84.23.64.173
    Connecting to kvm01.test.fway.me|84.23.64.173|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
    Saving to: `/dev/null'
    
    100%[======================================>] 104,857,600 9.14M/s   in 12s
    
    2012-09-24 07:55:19 (8.42 MB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]
    

    From Chicago

     $ wget http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test -O /dev/null
    --2012-09-24 04:58:00--  http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test
    Resolving kvm01.test.fway.me... 84.23.64.173
    Connecting to kvm01.test.fway.me|84.23.64.173|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
    Saving to: `/dev/null'
    
    100%[======================================>] 104,857,600  883K/s   in 2m 39s
    
    2012-09-24 05:00:39 (646 KB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]
    

    from FDCservers.net, Denver

     $ wget http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test -O /dev/null
    --2012-09-24 04:59:00--  http://kvm01.test.fway.me/100mb.test
    Resolving kvm01.test.fway.me... 84.23.64.173
    Connecting to kvm01.test.fway.me|84.23.64.173|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
    Saving to: `/dev/null'
    
    100%[======================================>] 104,857,600  531K/s   in 3m 40s  /
    
    2012-09-24 05:02:40 (465 KB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]
    
  • I starting live migration now.. virsh migrate --live..

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

  • 96MB: My Low End VPS Review Blog, 96MB Forum: Official forum for 96mb.com, LowEndPress: Low End VPS community news/tips site on 64MB of RAM!
  • Thanks for your review. We had few customers with a very high io load (iozone benchmarking :) ), but it should be better now. A box with one vcpu core should be around 100 MB/s.

    fileMEDIA - German VPS @ https://www.filemedia.de - German dedi @ https://www.dedify.com

Sign In or Register to comment.