Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

Expansion: Needs Opinions

Expansion: Needs Opinions

dominicldominicl Member
edited September 2012 in General

Hello,

I'd like to thank everybody on LET for taking advantage of our offers thread, and ordering. I've had a huge amount of orders in the first 10 days of being up, and are happy to say this. SwitchVM will be featuring on LowEndBox tomorrow, so I expect another influx of orders during a 24 hour period from which the offer is posted.

The main purpose of this thread is to ask for readers opinions about an expansion. When I am making a profit from the current LA node, we will be expanding elsewhere.

I'm either thinking:

  • Netherlands
  • UK
  • Germany
  • Another US location (Chicago, New York, New Jersey, etc)

I'm currently not sure which one to go for and want your opinions. Which location would you prefer?

Another question, which provider would you recommend? Currently I have the following ideas:

  • Netherlands - Qirus (top), WorldStream, SwiftWay, DediServ, SnelServer
  • UK - Redstation, BurstNET, Exascale
  • Germany - HostAddon, Hetzner, DediServ, ProviderService
  • US - InterServer, RackLot

It would be great to get some opinions on both questions to see what people thank. Again, thank you :)

-Dominic

Thanked by 1acarrascope
«1

Comments

  • I think the only country on your list that doesn't have tons of LEB hosts yet is the Netherlands.

    President Of Operations/CEO/CFO/CTO/COO of my account
    image

    Thanked by 2dominicl acarrascope
  • @gsrdgrdghd said: I think the only country on your list that doesn't have tons of LEB hosts yet is the Netherlands.

    Because of the pricing there, it is slightly higher than the other once in the list.

  • @gsrdgrdghd said: I think the only country on your list that doesn't have tons of LEB hosts yet is the Netherlands.

    Stay off my Turf! unless you are doing XEN then you are on @Anthonysmith 's turf...

    I don't think anyone does KVM yet though.

  • TazTaz Disabled

    @dominicl said: SwitchVM will be featuring on LowEndBox tomorrow

    How can you be so sure ?

    Time is good and also bad. Life is short and that is sad. Dont worry be happy thats my style. No matter what happens i won't lose my smile!

  • However:

    Netherlands - Qirus (top) - HAHA - You want to be kicked out if you ever receive a DoS? WorldStream - Max of 16 IPs? SwiftWay - Never used them. ProviderService - Aren't they in Germany? DediServ - On Leaseweb's Evoswitch network , if they use IPs from leaseweb I don't think they can allocate more than 16 ips?

  • @Alex_LiquidHost said: Because of the pricing there, it is slightly higher than the other once in the list.

    I've had a very good Quote from Qirus, which is why I've put them at the top. I've not really looked into what they're like yet (service, network, etc) though. If anybody has any other NL providers to consider, that would be much appreciated. I've just added SnelServer to my list.

    @Jack said: I don't think anyone does KVM yet though.

    That might be a good option to consider actually...

  • Don't forget Snel .. Not sure how they are performing in their new DC now.

    Thanked by 1dominicl
  • @dominicl said: I've had a very good Quote from Qirus

    Please Please read my reply otherwise you will make a very very big mistake.

  • @dominicl said: That might be a good option to consider actually...

    Seeing your "extensive" knowedge.. That would be a very bad idea.

    Thanked by 1Infinity
  • dominicldominicl Member
    edited September 2012

    @Jack said: Netherlands - Qirus (top) - HAHA - You want to be kicked out if you ever receive a DoS? WorldStream - Max of 16 IPs? SwiftWay - Never used them. ProviderService - Aren't they in Germany? DediServ - On Leaseweb's Evoswitch network , if they use IPs from leaseweb I don't think they can allocate more than 16 ips?

    Thanks ;) Just re-arranged my list. ProviderService are indeed in Germany. Added SnelServer. Forgot about them.

    Qirus - I see. Hmm, maybe not to consider them then

    What are they like in their new DC?

  • JackJack Member
    edited September 2012

    @Alex_LiquidHost said: Don't forget Snel .. Not sure how they are performing in their new DC now.

    Had a client moaning about speeds however I can't recreate the issue.

    They seem decent though.

    ^

    @dominicl said: What are they like in their new DC?

  • @Jack said: They seem decent though.

    I like the look of their automation system or w.e they claim to have. It looks pretty good. They've had some good offers in the past, I know that.

  • JackJack Member
    edited September 2012

    @dominicl said: I like the look of their automation system or w.e they claim to have. It looks pretty good. They've had some good offers in the past, I know that.

    If you have a drive fail by the looks of the facebook page.. you'll be waiting till 9AM weekdays...

    image

  • @Jack said: If you have a drive fail by the looks of the facebook page.. you'll be waiting till 9AM weekdays...

    Hmm, that's not good. And hopefully that won't happen. I'm never a fan of companies who don't work weekends but I could live with it as mainly my tickets are IP requests

  • I'd say wait and gain at least 3 months of operational experience before you start expanding in new locations. Most of those signups during the first 10 days of any new host are probably frauds which you didn't know how to detect and filter off. Wait and see how many customers stay with you for the second month, gain some experience, then think about expansion.

  • @rds100 said: I'd say wait and gain at least 3 months of operational experience before you start expanding in new locations. Most of those signups during the first 10 days of any new host are probably frauds which you didn't know how to detect and filter off. Wait and see how many customers stay with you for the second month, gain some experience, then think about expansion.

    Understood - will take that onboard. Ty.

  • InfinityInfinity Retired Staff

    I couldn't say it better than @rds100, definitely take note of that.

    我是一个巨魔 (;

    Thanked by 2Jack Randy
  • @Infinity said: I couldn't say it better than @rds100, definitely take note of that.

    Yeah, definitely will. :)

    Thanked by 1Infinity
  • @gsrdgrdghd said: I think the only country on your list that doesn't have tons of LEB hosts yet is the Netherlands.

    +1 to them but

    @rds100 said: I'd say wait and gain at least 3 months of operational experience before you start expanding in new locations. Most of those signups during the first 10 days of any new host are probably frauds which you didn't know how to detect and filter off. Wait and see how many customers stay with you for the second month, gain some experience, then think about expansion.

    Expand can be made with a solid client base too, your offers are very hard to beat but add a new DC could change your balance in this stage. Add nodes where you are if you need them.

    Im out

  • I don't think you should be adding more locations yet - you've only got one server, and every location means empty space on a server. Add more nodes at your current location if you have to.

    Put your small hosting business on auto-pilot with Loading Deck
  • @acarrascope said: Expand can be made with a solid client base too, your offers are very hard to beat but add a new DC could change your balance in this stage. Add nodes where you are if you need them.

    Yeah, I will wait a bit to see what happens anyway, but..I still need ideas for when I do expand..;)

    @jhadley said: I don't think you should be adding more locations yet - you've only got one server, and every location means empty space on a server. Add more nodes at your current location if you have to.

    Yeah - planning to add another LA node soon.

  • I wouldn't expand to a new 'location' , get to atleast 5 nodes in Location #1 :)

  • @Jack said: I wouldn't expand to a new 'location' , get to atleast 5 nodes in Location #1 :)

    Okay ;)

  • @dominicl Qirus sales still haven't replied to my inquiry... submitted over two weeks ago :(

    SimpleNode | Minecraft and VPS Hosting | KVM and OpenVZ | Dallas, TX and Phoenix, AZ | PayPal and BitCoins accepted

  • @SimpleNode said: Qirus sales still haven't replied to my inquiry... submitted over two weeks ago :(

    Yea they are there for a quarter of the month then are no where to be found they still ow me 200 euros.

  • acarrascopeacarrascope Banned
    edited September 2012

    @dominicl said: Yeah, I will wait a bit to see what happens

    Great, the game is show it in blue. Netherlands is a classic even for Descartes :)

    Im out

  • RandyRandy Disabled
    edited September 2012

    You are using the free month service from motion servers? LOL why are you expanding to fast? Dont over do it . OH Come on seriously ?

  • ZenZen Member
    edited September 2012

    @Randy said: You are using the free month service from motion servers? LOL why are you expanding to fast? Dont over do it . OH Come on seriously ?

    image

    image

    Transparency: I work for Nodisto and all subsequent businesses: Backupsy, VPSDime, Winity, Cloudive, and DotVPS. My opinions represented through posts on this forum are mine and not the opinions of these businesses unless explicitly stated otherwise.
  • RandyRandy Disabled
    edited September 2012

    i would suggest you to get a backup server instead. I am sure your server is not RAID 10 so the risk of data loss is high. ;-) just some advice

  • @Randy but you cannot restore those backups for him if it's not in the tos.

    I know, I'm Dale Maily.

  • @Randy said: i would suggest you to get a backup server instead. I am sure your server is not RAID 10 so the risk of data loss is high. ;-) just some advice

    He uses RAID1. RAID10 only increases redundancy in some cases.

    SimpleNode | Minecraft and VPS Hosting | KVM and OpenVZ | Dallas, TX and Phoenix, AZ | PayPal and BitCoins accepted

  • I thought Randy claimed he was leaving LET...

    @op - I beg of you to choose NL ;)

  • @dominicl said: I've not really looked into what they're like yet (service, network, etc) though.

    very smart

  • @Jack said: Qirus (top) - HAHA - You want to be kicked out if you ever receive a DoS?

    You just need to know the owner :)

    @Jack said: SwiftWay - Never used them.

    Good ISP, BW sometimes a big laggy but very cheap.

    @Jack said: DediServ - On Leaseweb's Evoswitch network , if they use IPs from leaseweb I don't think they can allocate more than 16 ips?

    DediServ is RIPE member and uses their own blocks, they allocate much more if you want it.

    Opinions/Posts are to be assumed my own/personal and not company related unless obvious - Content is protected by free speech laws in the US (where LET is hosted) and Austria (where i live). Working @ EDIS and owning some others.

  • @William said: DediServ is RIPE member and uses their own blocks, they allocate much more if you want it.

    I have asked for a server with a /26 on quite a few occasions from them and its been refused every time.

  • @William , Who's the owner tell him I want my 200 euros back ;)

  • Netherlands, but please no SnelServer...

    Linux noob willing to learn.

  • Going to wait a little bit, as has been said. :P Hopefully the LEB offer will get a few orders in. It will be posted today.

  • TazTaz Disabled
    edited September 2012

    Might sound a bit rude but, You have server(s) with 8GB ram, selling 6-7$/1Gb => Something somewhere doesn't add up. Selling 7 vps would make you sold out at any given day, But than again, it is not suppose to make any money unless i am missing something terrible somewhere.

    Time is good and also bad. Life is short and that is sad. Dont worry be happy thats my style. No matter what happens i won't lose my smile!

  • @Taz_NinjaHawk said: Might sound a bit rude but, You have server(s) with 8GB ram, selling 6-7$/1Gb => Something somewhere doesn't add up. Selling 7 vps would make you sold out at any given day, But than again, it is not suppose to make any money unless i am missing something terrible somewhere.

    Overcommitment is a common practise this days, however this does sound like gross overselling of resources.

  • @Alex_LiquidHost said: Overcommitment is a common practise this days

    I agree and don't agree with huge overcommitment. A bit, yes. A huge amount, no.

    @Alex_LiquidHost said: however this does sound like gross overselling of resources.

    Certainly isn't. I'm not putting "that" many more VPS's on this node.

  • TazTaz Disabled

    @Alex_LiquidHost said: Overcommitment is a common practise this days, however this does sound like gross overselling of resources.

    While We do not over commit on resources such as ram and space, I have seen this and if managed properly, it can be a great procedure, how ever, in order to pay your bill and (assuming he in no way colocating but only leasing) server cost, those e3 are pretty expensive (70-200$/mo with minimal config), he has to over commit twice of what he is selling, bound to see disaster.

    Time is good and also bad. Life is short and that is sad. Dont worry be happy thats my style. No matter what happens i won't lose my smile!

  • @Taz_NinjaHawk said: (70-200$/mo with minimal config)

    Assuming you meant 170-200?

    @Taz_NinjaHawk said: he has to over commit twice of what he is selling, bound to see disaster.

    No, I'm not overcommitting that much. No way am I doubling what I have.

  • TazTaz Disabled

    @dominicl said: Certainly isn't. I'm not putting "that" many more VPS's on this node.

    While, it is not my business asking people how they make money or anything, but how bad is it really? This LET, many people won't even read this forum and not associating things with your domain, please be honest.

    Time is good and also bad. Life is short and that is sad. Dont worry be happy thats my style. No matter what happens i won't lose my smile!

  • @Taz_NinjaHawk said: While We do not over commit on resources such as ram and space, I have seen this and if managed properly, it can be a great procedure, how ever, in order to pay your bill and (assuming he in no way colocating but only leasing) server cost, those e3 are pretty expensive (70-200$/mo with minimal config), he has to over commit twice of what he is selling, bound to see disaster.

    Overcommitment is a common practise and pretty much all of the providers do it at some point. I belive if it is done the right way, it will increase the profit withotu affecting the level of services. There was a great webinar a couple of months ago, dicussing this.. If I find a link I will link you.

  • TazTaz Disabled

    @dominicl said: Assuming you meant 170-200?

    no 70$-200$. You can get a single 500Gb sata3 + 8gb ram + e3 1230 v1 for <100/mo.

    Time is good and also bad. Life is short and that is sad. Dont worry be happy thats my style. No matter what happens i won't lose my smile!

  • dominicldominicl Member
    edited September 2012

    @Taz_NinjaHawk said: While, it is not my business asking people how they make money or anything, but how bad is it really? This LET, many people won't even read this forum and not associating things with your domain, please be honest.

    A bit confused with your question?? Are you asking how many more VPS's I'll be putting on..or what?

    @Alex_LiquidHost said: I belive if it is done the right way, it will increase the profit withotu affecting the level of services.

    Agreed. I am not going to overcommit to the point where it affects performance. It has to be done right. If it's done wrong...then people will notice.

    @Taz_NinjaHawk said: no 70$-200$. You can get a single 500Gb sata3 + 8gb ram + e3 1230 v1 for <100/mo.

    Ah right, didn't realise that.

  • TazTaz Disabled

    @Alex_LiquidHost said: Overcommitment is a common practise and pretty much all of the providers do it at some point. I belive if it is done the right way, it will increase the profit withotu affecting the level of services. There was a great webinar a couple of months ago, dicussing this.. If I find a link I will link you.

    WHIR, yes i have seen that. How ever, selling 9-10Gb on 8gb may be ok (assuming a lot people won't use it, you have automated abuse handling and such), selling twice of what available is just playing with your luck.

    Time is good and also bad. Life is short and that is sad. Dont worry be happy thats my style. No matter what happens i won't lose my smile!

  • @Taz_NinjaHawk said: selling twice of what available is just playing with your luck.

    Yeah. I'm not going to over-commit that much. No way!

Sign In or Register to comment.