Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with OpenID
Advertise on LowEndTalk.com

In this Discussion

Community Review: BuyVM 128 MB KVM Yearly

Community Review: BuyVM 128 MB KVM Yearly

maxexcloomaxexcloo Member
edited June 2012 in Reviews

image http://www.buyvm.net/

BuyVM are very well known and shouldn't need much of an introduction, having created one of the most popular plans in the LEB world, the $15 a year 128 MB OpenVZ, they recently started providing KVM servers and are shaping up to be a great KVM provider. Today I'll be reviewing the $25 a year KVM equivalent of their OpenVZ plan.

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with BuyVM as staff. I am however a friend of Fran and half-op on their IRC channel (but am not official staff). This review was performed on a standard VPS and is written to be as unbiased as possible.

Basics: The VPS plan is based in San Jose, California and comes with 128 MB of RAM, 500 GB of bandwidth (monthly) and 15 GB of disk space. The plan costs $25 a year. KVM plans are managed by BuyVM's own Stallion panel (with SSL) and include every operating system imaginable (seriously). Torrenting and IRC is allowed and the IPs are assigned as Canadian, making them less of a target for DMCA takedowns/complaints. See their thread here for more information on available features (listing them here would make this seem like a marketing pitch :P).

Support: Setup took about four months as they seemed to be out of stock constantly(they have a huge demand) but once paid the server was activated in about half an hour. The welcome email contained all information necessary to get up and running with the VPS but did include plain text passwords, a security flaw in my view. Support is hit and miss, some days tickets will get resolved very quickly and some days it'll take up to half a day (the support isn't 24/7). I do however believe you get what you pay for and the support is usually fairly decent, resolving most simple issues (excluding some issues that never seem to be resolved or ignored).

Setup: Once my VPS was setup I proceeded to install Debian 6 as normal (installing nothing but the SSH server). After it was installed I used Minstall to clean out any unneeded packages and to set up SSH login protection. The setup went smoothly and very quickly!

Defaults: This section is obsolete as my setup process involves cleaning the server, resulting in the same results everywhere.

Basic Information: /proc/cpuinfo showed a processor matching the plan description:

root@buyvm:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 42
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E31230 @ 3.20GHz
stepping        : 7
cpu MHz         : 3192.748
cache size      : 4096 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 13
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc up pni pclmulqdq ssse3 cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt aes xsave avx hypervisor lahf_lm
bogomips        : 6385.49
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

/proc/meminfo showed some standard results:

root@buyvm:~# cat /proc/meminfo 
MemTotal:         124880 kB
MemFree:           38352 kB
Buffers:           60616 kB
Cached:            12956 kB
SwapCached:            0 kB
Active:            62416 kB
Inactive:          14236 kB
Active(anon):       3096 kB
Inactive(anon):      100 kB
Active(file):      59320 kB
Inactive(file):    14136 kB
Unevictable:           0 kB
Mlocked:               0 kB
HighTotal:             0 kB
HighFree:              0 kB
LowTotal:         124880 kB
LowFree:           38352 kB
SwapTotal:        242680 kB
SwapFree:         242680 kB
Dirty:                 0 kB
Writeback:             0 kB
AnonPages:          3096 kB
Mapped:             3816 kB
Shmem:               116 kB
Slab:               5816 kB
SReclaimable:       2820 kB
SUnreclaim:         2996 kB
KernelStack:         368 kB
PageTables:          180 kB
NFS_Unstable:          0 kB
Bounce:                0 kB
WritebackTmp:          0 kB
CommitLimit:      305120 kB
Committed_AS:       8924 kB
VmallocTotal:     897028 kB
VmallocUsed:        5396 kB
VmallocChunk:     884344 kB
HardwareCorrupted:     0 kB
HugePages_Total:       0
HugePages_Free:        0
HugePages_Rsvd:        0
HugePages_Surp:        0
Hugepagesize:       4096 kB
DirectMap4k:       12276 kB
DirectMap4M:      118784 kB

Inode allocation was excellent (As it always is on KVM):

root@buyvm:~# df -i
Filesystem            Inodes   IUsed   IFree IUse% Mounted on
/dev/vda1             969136   16799  952337    2% /
tmpfs                  15610       3   15607    1% /lib/init/rw
udev                   14499     443   14056    4% /dev
tmpfs                  15610       1   15609    1% /dev/shm

vmstat showed low system activity:

root@buyvm:~# vmstat
procs -----------memory---------- ---swap-- -----io---- -system-- ----cpu----
 r  b   swpd   free   buff  cache   si   so    bi    bo   in   cs us sy id wa
 0  0      0  38308  60620  12968    0    0   302    27  112   44  0  1 97  2
Reviews | Website | Projects (Minstall, Scripts, etc)

Comments

  • maxexcloomaxexcloo Member
    edited June 2012

    Tests: Each test was run three times and the middle ranked test was picked.

    The Cachefly test showed great results:

    root@buyvm:~# wget -O /dev/null http://cachefly.cachefly.net/100mb.test
    --2012-06-01 22:56:43--  http://cachefly.cachefly.net/100mb.test
    Resolving cachefly.cachefly.net... 205.234.175.175
    Connecting to cachefly.cachefly.net|205.234.175.175|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 104857600 (100M) [application/octet-stream]
    Saving to: `/dev/null'
    
    100%[====>] 104,857,600 44.4M/s   in 2.3s    
    
    2012-06-01 22:56:46 (44.4 MB/s) - `/dev/null' saved [104857600/104857600]
    

    Ping Tests (IPv6 works!):

    root@buyvm:~# ping -c 3 google.com
    PING google.com (74.125.224.227) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from lax04s08-in-f3.1e100.net (74.125.224.227): icmp_req=1 ttl=56 time=8.93 ms
    64 bytes from lax04s08-in-f3.1e100.net (74.125.224.227): icmp_req=2 ttl=56 time=9.14 ms
    64 bytes from lax04s08-in-f3.1e100.net (74.125.224.227): icmp_req=3 ttl=56 time=9.37 ms
    
    --- google.com ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2003ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 8.933/9.150/9.379/0.213 ms
    
    root@buyvm:~# ping6 -c 3 ipv6.google.com
    PING ipv6.google.com(lax04s08-in-x11.1e100.net) 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from lax04s08-in-x11.1e100.net: icmp_seq=1 ttl=59 time=13.8 ms
    64 bytes from lax04s08-in-x11.1e100.net: icmp_seq=2 ttl=59 time=8.75 ms
    64 bytes from lax04s08-in-x11.1e100.net: icmp_seq=3 ttl=59 time=8.43 ms
    
    --- ipv6.google.com ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 8.432/10.359/13.895/2.506 ms
    

    Disk IO was decent:

    root@buyvm:~# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync; rm test
    16384+0 records in
    16384+0 records out
    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 15.9663 s, 67.3 MB/s
    

    ioping showed good results:

    root@buyvm:~/ioping-0.6# ./ioping -c 10 .
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=1 time=0.1 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=2 time=0.6 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=3 time=0.1 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=4 time=0.1 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=5 time=0.1 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=6 time=0.1 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=7 time=1.6 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=8 time=0.1 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=9 time=0.1 ms
    4096 bytes from . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79): request=10 time=0.1 ms
    
    --- . (ext3 /dev/disk/by-uuid/dcf6d67d-f60d-492d-9c77-75f263a33c79) ioping statistics ---
    10 requests completed in 9005.3 ms, 3130 iops, 12.2 mb/s
    min/avg/max/mdev = 0.1/0.3/1.6/0.5 ms
    
    Reviews | Website | Projects (Minstall, Scripts, etc)
  • maxexcloomaxexcloo Member
    edited June 2012

    Geekbench results were fairly good:

    root@buyvm:~/dist/Geekbench21-Linux# ./geekbench_x86_32 
    Geekbench 2.1.13 : http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/
    
    System Information
      Platform:                  Linux x86 (32-bit)
      Compiler:                  GCC 4.1.2 20070925 (Red Hat 4.1.2-33)
      Operating System:          Linux 2.6.32-5-686 i686
      Model:                     Linux PC (Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E31230 @ 3.20GHz)
      Motherboard:               Unknown Motherboard
      Processor:                 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E31230 @ 3.20GHz
      Processor ID:              GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
      Logical Processors:        1
      Physical Processors:       1
      Processor Frequency:       3.19 GHz
      L1 Instruction Cache:      64.0 KB
      L1 Data Cache:             64.0 KB
      L2 Cache:                  512 KB
      L3 Cache:                  0.00 B
      Bus Frequency:             0.00 Hz
      Memory:                    122 MB
      Memory Type:               N/A
      SIMD:                      1
      BIOS:                      N/A
      Processor Model:                     Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E31230 @ 3.20GHz
      Processor Cores:           1
    
    Integer
      Blowfish
        single-threaded scalar    1996 |||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     2161 ||||||||
      Text Compress
        single-threaded scalar    2572 ||||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     2508 ||||||||||
      Text Decompress
        single-threaded scalar    2796 |||||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     2711 ||||||||||
      Image Compress
        single-threaded scalar    1691 ||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     1663 ||||||
      Image Decompress
        single-threaded scalar    1537 ||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     1576 ||||||
      Lua
        single-threaded scalar    2456 |||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     2458 |||||||||
    
    Floating Point
      Mandelbrot
        single-threaded scalar    2456 |||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     2494 |||||||||
      Dot Product
        single-threaded scalar    3353 |||||||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     3564 ||||||||||||||
        single-threaded vector    3656 ||||||||||||||
        multi-threaded vector     4198 ||||||||||||||||
      LU Decomposition
        single-threaded scalar    1986 |||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     2019 ||||||||
      Primality Test
        single-threaded scalar    3520 ||||||||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     2791 |||||||||||
      Sharpen Image
        single-threaded scalar    6198 ||||||||||||||||||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     6271 |||||||||||||||||||||||||
      Blur Image
        single-threaded scalar    5420 |||||||||||||||||||||
        multi-threaded scalar     5445 |||||||||||||||||||||
    
    Memory
      Read Sequential
        single-threaded scalar    6943 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
      Write Sequential
        single-threaded scalar   10732 ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
      Stdlib Allocate
        single-threaded scalar    4891 |||||||||||||||||||
      Stdlib Write
        single-threaded scalar    6589 ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
      Stdlib Copy
        single-threaded scalar   11970 |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    
    Stream
      Stream Copy
        single-threaded scalar    5280 |||||||||||||||||||||
        single-threaded vector    6210 ||||||||||||||||||||||||
      Stream Scale
        single-threaded scalar    5806 |||||||||||||||||||||||
        single-threaded vector    6099 ||||||||||||||||||||||||
      Stream Add
        single-threaded scalar    5828 |||||||||||||||||||||||
        single-threaded vector    6195 ||||||||||||||||||||||||
      Stream Triad
        single-threaded scalar    6072 ||||||||||||||||||||||||
        single-threaded vector    4596 ||||||||||||||||||
    
    Integer Score:                2177 ||||||||
    Floating Point Score:         3812 |||||||||||||||
    Memory Score:                 8225 ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Stream Score:                 5760 |||||||||||||||||||||||
    
    Overall Geekbench Score:      4317 |||||||||||||||||
    

    Online View: http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/711613

    Reviews | Website | Projects (Minstall, Scripts, etc)
  • maxexcloomaxexcloo Member
    edited June 2012

    UNIX Bench results also showed good performance:

    ========================================================================
       BYTE UNIX Benchmarks (Version 5.1.3)
    
       System: debian: GNU/Linux
       OS: GNU/Linux -- 2.6.32-5-686 -- #1 SMP Sun May 6 04:01:19 UTC 2012
       Machine: i686 (unknown)
       Language: en_US.utf8 (charmap="ANSI_X3.4-1968", collate="ANSI_X3.4-1968")
       CPU 0: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E31230 @ 3.20GHz (6385.5 bogomips)
              x86-64, MMX, Physical Address Ext, SYSENTER/SYSEXIT, SYSCALL/SYSRET
       23:14:59 up 13 min,  1 user,  load average: 0.16, 0.13, 0.05; runlevel 2
    
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Benchmark Run: Fri Jun 01 2012 23:14:59 - 23:43:09
    1 CPU in system; running 1 parallel copy of tests
    
    Dhrystone 2 using register variables       16435749.6 lps   (10.0 s, 7 samples)
    Double-Precision Whetstone                     3010.0 MWIPS (9.8 s, 7 samples)
    Execl Throughput                               6333.9 lps   (29.7 s, 2 samples)
    File Copy 1024 bufsize 2000 maxblocks        621997.7 KBps  (30.0 s, 2 samples)
    File Copy 256 bufsize 500 maxblocks          182167.9 KBps  (30.0 s, 2 samples)
    File Copy 4096 bufsize 8000 maxblocks       1728349.1 KBps  (30.0 s, 2 samples)
    Pipe Throughput                             1238837.7 lps   (10.0 s, 7 samples)
    Pipe-based Context Switching                 312155.5 lps   (10.0 s, 7 samples)
    Process Creation                              21702.7 lps   (30.0 s, 2 samples)
    Shell Scripts (1 concurrent)                   7957.7 lpm   (60.0 s, 2 samples)
    Shell Scripts (8 concurrent)                   1012.8 lpm   (60.0 s, 2 samples)
    System Call Overhead                        1067686.9 lps   (10.0 s, 7 samples)
    
    System Benchmarks Index Values               BASELINE       RESULT    INDEX
    Dhrystone 2 using register variables         116700.0   16435749.6   1408.4
    Double-Precision Whetstone                       55.0       3010.0    547.3
    Execl Throughput                                 43.0       6333.9   1473.0
    File Copy 1024 bufsize 2000 maxblocks          3960.0     621997.7   1570.7
    File Copy 256 bufsize 500 maxblocks            1655.0     182167.9   1100.7
    File Copy 4096 bufsize 8000 maxblocks          5800.0    1728349.1   2979.9
    Pipe Throughput                               12440.0    1238837.7    995.9
    Pipe-based Context Switching                   4000.0     312155.5    780.4
    Process Creation                                126.0      21702.7   1722.4
    Shell Scripts (1 concurrent)                     42.4       7957.7   1876.8
    Shell Scripts (8 concurrent)                      6.0       1012.8   1688.1
    System Call Overhead                          15000.0    1067686.9    711.8
                                                                       ========
    System Benchmarks Index Score                                        1270.3
    

    Conclusion: BuyVM offer some of the best VPS range backed by a stable business. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone seeking servers based in the US. However, the price does come at a cost as sometimes performance isn't what you'd expect given their reputation and support is subpar (sometimes complacent).

    Please give BuyVM a try and report on findings (if you can get stock)! Thanks for reading, tips and suggestions are appreciated!

    Reviews | Website | Projects (Minstall, Scripts, etc)
  • Is the disk i/o low for BuyVM?

  • yomeroyomero Member

    Do you have the virtio drivers enabled?

  • @antiven said: Is the disk i/o low for BuyVM?

    @yomero said: Do you have the virtio drivers enabled?

    Storage had big issues for several months. I hear they've been ironed out now (though I no longer have mine).

    Looking for support, sysadmin, etc. work: PM
    Working on VPSM
  • miTgiBmiTgiB Member

    @DimeCadmium said: Storage had big issues for several months.

    I see this is a normal KVM offer, not a storage plan, or were you just talking about the storage plans?

    Hostigation High Resource Hosting - SolusVM OpenVZ/KVM VPS
  • @yomero said: Do you have the virtio drivers enabled?

    Yup.

    @DimeCadmium said: Storage had big issues for several months. I hear they've been ironed out now (though I no longer have mine).

    Yes, I used storage as an example of poor support from BuyVM, the current plan is not a storage plan though...

    Reviews | Website | Projects (Minstall, Scripts, etc)
  • @miTgiB said: I see this is a normal KVM offer, not a storage plan, or were you just talking about the storage plans?

    @maxexcloo said: (excluding some issues that never seem to be resolved or ignored; storage IO speeds were never resolved in the 2 months I was on the plan, they appear to be fixed now however).

    I'm not sure if they were misunderstanding that or not, but that was my first impression.

    Looking for support, sysadmin, etc. work: PM
    Working on VPSM
  • @DimeCadmium said: I'm not sure if they were misunderstanding that or not, but that was my first impression.

    Yea I cut that part as it was an example that was easily misunderstood...

    Reviews | Website | Projects (Minstall, Scripts, etc)
  • @antiven said: Is the disk i/o low for BuyVM?

    It's lower for a KVM. The KVM boxes have smaller arrays at 4 disks but they'll have SSD caches to assist soon enough :)

    Thanks for the review :)

    Francisco

    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based / TUN, PPTP, FUSE, SIT & GRE Enabled! / Stallion Control Panel
  • That IO is much, much less than what I get, but I'm on an OpenVZ plan so it's gonna be different.

  • @Ivraatiems said: That IO is much, much less than what I get, but I'm on an OpenVZ plan so it's gonna be different.

    OVZ's have a much larger array, 8 disk raid10's :) OVZ's will be anywhere from 190 - 400M/sec, depending on if the box has a cache and such.

    Francisco

    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based / TUN, PPTP, FUSE, SIT & GRE Enabled! / Stallion Control Panel
  • JTRJTR Member
    edited June 2012

    @antiven said: Is the disk i/o low for BuyVM?

    The OpenVZ nodes do much better. Right?

    [root@buyvm ~]# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync
    16384+0 records in
    16384+0 records out
    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 31.6418 s, 33.9 MB/s

    Wut. Uh.... Let me try that again.

    [root@buyvm ~]# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync
    16384+0 records in
    16384+0 records out
    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 15.8232 s, 67.9 MB/s

    Well, IO performance on this node seems to have gone to shit, because I usually see (well) over 100MB/s.

    Another test yielded better results, but this illustrates that performance changes quite a lot.

    [root@buyvm ~]# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync
    16384+0 records in
    16384+0 records out
    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 8.10872 s, 132 MB/s

    One more.. For science...

    [root@buyvm ~]# dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync
    16384+0 records in
    16384+0 records out
    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 6.94881 s, 155 MB/s
  • LAKidLAKid Member

    so what's the point?

  • jarlandjarland Member
    edited June 2012

    @JTR Ouch. What node?

    Here's mine.

    Node 58: 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 3.74801 s, 286 MB/s

    Node 49: 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 5.89505 s, 182 MB/s

    Node 66: 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 4.27553 s, 251 MB/s

    Node 47: 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 14.5948 s, 73.6 MB/s 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 20.4197 s, 52.6 MB/s 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 11.2721 s, 95.3 MB/s (ran 3x, not 3 vps, I'm not that addicted)

    Node 06: 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 5.71265 s, 188 MB/s

    It does seem a little heavy on 47, but he did say they're rolling out the SSD cache. Certainly not bad though. You scared me for a moment with that 33mb/s ;)

    jarland.me | Read about my new hosting experiment.

  • JTRJTR Member

    @jarland

    Node 07. Performance improved a bit, now I'm seeing 150-250MB/s.

    Thanked by 1jarland
  • netomxnetomx Member

    (node57)

    dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync; rm test
    16384+0 records in
    16384+0 records out
    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 3.75813 s, 286 MB/s

    wow, the performance was poor before, nice one @Francisco

  • @netomx said: wow, the performance was poor before, nice one @Francisco

    Things usually dip some depending on new sales, etc. We always ask that if things are lower than they hsould be that you please log a ticket and we'll check :)

    We used to have a script that monitored dd results every little bit but it just added to the strain :P

    Francisco

    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based / TUN, PPTP, FUSE, SIT & GRE Enabled! / Stallion Control Panel
  • NyrNyr Member

    One thing about the IP adresses geolocation: I had been a BuyVM customer for about a year and half and they were located in Canada when I got my VPSs, but a few months ago all of them switched the geo to the USA without notice.

    Not complaining about that, just wanted to clarify that point since you are speaking about torrenting on your review ;)

  • @Francisco

    Im confused, why can the guest see the processor and not qemu?

  • JackJack Member

    @GetKVM-Ash said: Im confused, why can the guest see the processor and not qemu?

    BuyVM don't use the default solus / KVM crap do they :P

  • @GetKVM-Ash said: @Francisco

    Im confused, why can the guest see the processor and not qemu?

    We addressed it? :)

    There's always paranoid users that don't trust their hosts and what CPU is in there 'Maybe they just overclocked something hurp derp', so we enabled host CPU forging.

    Francisco

    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based / TUN, PPTP, FUSE, SIT & GRE Enabled! / Stallion Control Panel
  • @Jack It's nothing to do with solusvm, it's just default for the KVM module.

    @Francisco Ah cool I wasn't aware you could do that.

  • @GetKVM-Ash said: It's nothing to do with solusvm, it's just default for the KVM module.

    Not quite, it requires modification to the .xml files for each KVM to enable it. It isn't like it's an HN control. :P

    There's plenty of other goodies we do on the node side for each KVM. We've got some other features coming in possibly stallion1 to give people additional security.

    Francisco

    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based / TUN, PPTP, FUSE, SIT & GRE Enabled! / Stallion Control Panel
  • IvraatiemsIvraatiems Member
    edited June 2012

    dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync ; rm test 16384+0 records in 16384+0 records out 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 8.53071 s, 126 MB/s

    dd if=/dev/zero of=test bs=64k count=16k conv=fdatasync ; rm test 16384+0 records in 16384+0 records out 1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 4.89037 s, 220 MB/s

    On node24 just now.

Sign In or Register to comment.